TTT #5: Books I added to my to-read list because of recs/reviews by other bloggers

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by The Broke and The Bookish. As the name suggests, posts feature a themed Top Ten list. To join in on the fun, you just need to link back to the creators’ blog where you can also find the topics for the upcoming weeks and post your own list. 
Don’t forget to take some time to check out other people’s posts as well! 



1. The Museum of Modern Love

Heather Rose’s novel was added to my TBR after reading this review by Heather @ Bits & Books. I could very much relate to her feelings about the book since I felt similarly about a book I had read shortly before – The Unbearable Lightness Of Being.

goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9



2. The Education Of Dixie Dupree

Elizabeth Blair introduced this novel by Donna Everhart to me when she showed off her
September Galleys
. I was intrigued by the cover and her description, read the blurb on goodreads and was immediately sold.

goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9

3. The Sleepwalker’s Guide To Dancing

This not much known novel by Mira Jacob found its way to me via a review by ahouseofbooks. Besides, the cover is beautiful.

goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9

 

4. Kids Of Appetite 

I don’t think I need to tell anyone that I have seen this one around a lot – Maria @ Big City Bookworm and Sara @ A Gingerly Review featured it in Waiting on Wednesday posts and JM @ Book Freak Revelations reviewed it to just name a few. It sounds intriguing and everyone also seems to have loved David Arnold’s other novel Mosquitoland which I haven’t read, so I’ll start with this one.

goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9



5. Grief Is The Thing With Feathers

Unfortunately I know what grief feels like and I’ve seen what it does to people, so this is something I think I will be able to relate to. I first discovered Max Porter’s novel through this review by In Case Of Bookishness, which also sold it to me immediately.

goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9


6. The Memory Of Light

This fantastic post by Read Diverse Books brought many books to me, but this one stands out to me – not just because of the stunning cover, but also because novels dealing with depression in a realistic and empathetic way are so, so important.

goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9


7. Yiddish For Pirates

Gary Barwin’s novel has pirates. And a polyglot parrot. Enough said. Found on the 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize Shortlist as announced by Naomi @ Consumed By Ink.

goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9

 

8. The Bone Sparrow

Another book that I’ve seen around quite a lot. This lovely review by Michelle @ Book Adventures was how it first caught my attention and what got me to add it to my to-read list though.

goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9


9. Love Notes For Freddie

I know I added this to my to-read list because of a review I read on someone’s blog, but for the life of me I can’t find it. In any case it sounds fascinating. Check it out! Oh and if one of you reviewed it, let me know!

goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9

 

10. Beastkeeper

I love fairy tales. I love Beauty & The Beast. A lot of posts about fairy tale retellings inspired me to go look for them and I stumbled upon this one and I’d like to give it a try. If you’re also looking for a retelling of your favorite fairy tale, you might want to check out these helpful guides by Bookish Freaks and Corn Reviews Books.

goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9


talktome2

What books have you added to your pile because of glowing reviews by other bloggers?
Tell me about them in the comments!

If you’re participating in Top Ten Tuesday leave me a link so I can check it out! 🙂

43 thoughts on “TTT #5: Books I added to my to-read list because of recs/reviews by other bloggers

  1. Yiddish for Pirates sounds like great fun!! I’m always adding stuff to my TBR thanks to this wonderful bookish community! Amongst others I’m keen to read ‘we gon’ be alright’ by Jeff Chang and ‘the Nordic theory of everything’ by Anu Partanen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And now I’ve added Yiddish for Pirates and Beastkeeper to my pile as well :D. I’m so happy to see all of these titles again instead of the standard ones ❤ Diversity for life!!

    Like

  3. Ah I’m so glad you added “A Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing” based on my review – I really hope you like it as much as I did!
    I haven’t read any of the other books on your list here but I’m definitely adding some of them to my tbr – I love the sound of several of them 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! Kids of Appetite is the only book I’ve heard on this list. That is really inspiring to me, actually. I love how we can all spread a diverse collection of books to each other– There are so many books I never would have read without checking out my friends’ reviews. Yiddish for Pirates and Beastkeeper on now on my TBR. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have not read any of the books on your list, either! (Or heard of most of them.)
    So I’ll just have to take a gander on GR as to what they’re about, too. Some have pretty covers (*_*)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I haven’t read or even heard of any of these books but will try check them out. I like the sound of Love Notes for Freddie. I hope that you will enjoy all these books and good luck finding book number 9.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I want to read The Bone Sparrow, in fact, I just requested it on NetGalley yesterday! Having worked with asylum seekers and refugees when I lived in Australia, and knowing firsthand some of the horrible stories that go along with the way the Australian government has treated asylum seekers, I am really curious how this novel handles this sensitive but incredibly important topic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • With the current situation of the world, I think this is an incredibly important topic without a doubt. I’m glad that it made its way into fiction and I hope it’s handled in an appropriate manner. I’ll be looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it!

      Like

  8. Great picks for this week. I haven’t read any of these but I’ve been seeing The Bone Sparrow around quite a bit and I am tempted to add it to my to-read list, and oh after seeing your post I really want to read Beastkeeper as well. I am a massive massive fan of fairytale retellings and this sounds like one I’d love as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment