Diversity Spotlight #6: October 27th 2016

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Every week, you come up with one book in each of three different categories:

– a diverse book you have read and enjoyed
– a diverse book on your TBR
– a diverse book that has not yet been released

You can check out Aimal’s announcement post for more information.
Don’t forget to leave a link to your own post in the comments and take some time to check out other people’s posts! πŸ™‚Β 


A diverse book I have read and enjoyed

We Should All Be Feminists By Chimamanda Ngozi AdichieΒ goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9

A brilliant essay by an awesome woman that everyone should read. Read my review here.
compelling description:

“Some people will bring up evolutionary biology and apes, how female apes bow to male apes – that sort of thing. But the point is this: we are not apes. Apes also live in trees and eat earthworms. We do not.”

 

A diverse book on my TBR

The Vegetarian by Han KangΒ Β goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9

IΒ just bought this – hopefullys I’ll get to it soon! πŸ™‚
compelling quote:

“I want to swallow you, have you melt into me and flow through my veins.”

 

A diverse book that has not yet been released

Fish In Exile by Vi Khi NaoΒ Β goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9

Vi Khi Nao has an MFA in fiction from Brown University and has previously published a poetry collection among other things.
Expected publication: NovemberΒ 1st 2016.
compelling description:

Fish in Exile spins unimaginable loss through classical and magical tumblers, distorting our view so that we can see the contours of a parent’s grief all the more clearly.”

 


Especially with the recent discussion about the need for more diversity in literature, I think this is a brilliant meme. Let’s broaden our horizons together and read more diversely! If you participate in the meme, leave me a link to your post in the comments or just tell me about some diverse book you have read or want to read πŸ™‚
#WeNeedDiverseBooks

16 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight #6: October 27th 2016

  1. Fantastic topic. I’d encourage everyone to do this. We used to have a topic in high school called “World Literature” where we read books from Albert Camus to Chinua Achebe, Henrik Ibsen to Aleksander Solzhenitsyn, and it was without a doubt my favorite part of the course. I’ll definitely be checking out We Should All Be Feminists.

    Would you by any chance be interested in sharing your thoughts and opinions on Creators? I’d love to build up the novels/literature/books section on the platform, in case you’d be keen to share your work. Let me know if you’d be interesting in becoming a Creator. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail for more info. My contact details are on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh gosh, all of these look amazing. I’ve heard of the Vegetarian, but not the other two unfortunately, I think I’m going to go look them up on goodreads right now! The little quote you added really help to sell the book, I especially love the one from ‘We Should all be Feminists”.

    Fleur @ FranklyBooks just posted SISTERS & CAKE | THE SIREN BY KEIRA CASS

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

