Review: We Should All Be Feminists.

In this short essay adapted from her TEDx Talk, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie beautifully explains what it means to be a feminist. Drawing from her own experience as well as the experiences of friends, Adichie uses personal anecdotes to illustrate why feminism is still relevant and needed – to make the world a better place for all of us.

A post shared by M. (@mreadsbooks) on

Part of the beauty of We Should All Be Feminists lies in its simplicity. You don’t need to fear tripping over complicated words – Adichie’s words flow as smoothly as warm honey.
She relays her thoughts on the issue in such a personal and conversational manner, this doesn’t feel like an essay. Reading this doesn’t feel like a lecture – it feels like a friendly conversation with someone you know. Everyone can read this. Everyone should read this.

Some people will bring up evolutionary biology and apes, how female apes bow to male apes – that sort of thing. But the point is this: we are not apes. Apes also live in trees and eat earthworms. We do not.

TL;DR

Recommended to really absolutely everyone. It’s also just 48 pages long, so what are you waiting for?

final rating:

rating-5


goodreads-badge-add-plus_zpsc94610e9
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. We Should All Be Feminists.
published by Anchor on February 3rd 2015
48 pages
ISBN: 110191176X


talktome2

Have you read this essay? What did you think? Are you planning to read it?
Tell me in the comments!

25 thoughts on “Review: We Should All Be Feminists.

    • Glad you agree! Someone told me in the comments of my last post that they heard Sweden wanted to make it so. I looked it up and found newspaper articles announcing a project in which they were planning to (or did?) give a copy to every 16 year old at Swedish high schools 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I have thought about reading this many times, but each time convinced myself I should watch the TEDx talking instead, only to flip my opinion in a never ending cycle– leading to my never reading or listening to it. Oops!
    It sounds like I should change that immediately.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You can always still watch the Tedx Talk after reading it – or the other way around 😛 i think it really depends on personal preference – as to which medium you prefer. Reading should be the faster option though! 48 pages is even misleading, because the book is small and the font decently sized. I didn’t look at the time when I read this, but I’m sure it takes half the time of the TEDx talk if even 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • I unfortunately haven’t gotten around to reading any of her novels, but they are definitely on my list! I keep hearing so many good things about her writing, too, so I’m really looking forward to finally reading one of her novels!

      Like

Leave a Reply

