Blogger Recognition Award.

So I wanted to do a post today but didn’t really feel inspired, so I thought I’d solve the dilemma by doing a book tag post. πŸ™‚ Thanks to the sweet Lois @ loisreadsbooks for tagging me inΒ the Blogger Recognition Award!

blogger

Rules
  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

 

How it all began…

I know it’s completely unnecessary to say this, but I love books. And I love discussing books. Unfortunately most of my friends in real life aren’t veryΒ into books. So I usually just spam my boyfriend with my bookish opinions πŸ˜€ I realized that doing that really helps me to figure out why exactly I enjoy a book or not, what’s great about it and which parts bother me. So I decided to start writing reviews for the books I read. And the best way to share them with others, I thought, was to start a book blog. And last month, I finally did that. Since then I’ve met lots of awesome people who have all been incredibly kind and welcoming – thank you all for that! ❀ So if you think about starting your own blog, but you’re worried about getting accepted into the book blogging community – go start the blog, you have nothing to worry about! Beware of the side effects though:Β my tbr pile has exploded in the little time since I started this! πŸ˜›

 

Unsolicited advice from someone who’s probably not qualified to give it

Get in touch with other book bloggers! Visit their blogs, read their posts, leave comments.Β This will help you build up an audience for your blog. Additionally, participating in book blog memes isΒ a great way to find other bloggers and get them to find you. I’m currently taking part in the WWW Wednesday and Diversity Spotlight Thursday memes. I will also be joining Top Ten Tuesday the coming week, so be sure to keep an eye out for that! πŸ™‚

Make your posts attractive to potential readers! Using pictures in your posts is a good way to make them visually pleasing. Setting a featured image for your post also helps to attract readers. And this should be a given, but take the time to spell check your posts! Sometimes I still stumble upon posts that are so full of mistakes that I will give up on reading them to the end because it gives me a headache. Now, there’s no need to stress – a typo or two happens to everyone. Just make sure you don’t write your post in a hurry and end up having excessive amounts of mistakes in there.

 

And the nominees are…
31 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award.

  1. I get what you mean about finding people with similar interests online.My friends offline are also not into books much and my boyfriend prefers to get me books than discuss them with me.That’s why I started book blogging too.Great tip about getting in touch with other bloggers.Welcome to TTT.its one of my favourite weekly features.I am also joining Diversity Spotlight Thursday this week.

    Thanks for the tag.Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, my boyfriend also doesn’t really discuss books with me. πŸ˜€ He just has to listen to me discussing books πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ (he doesn’t mind though, so it’s cool :P)
      Really glad to hear you’re joining in on Diversity Spotlight Thursday! It’s such a great meme πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. This is great advice. I’ve recently fallen in love with reading all over again after life getting in the way to far too long. I used to read up to 2-3 novels in a weekend once upon another life, lol. I’ve been blogging my reviews, I forgot how much i loved writing them. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And I know what you mean, I think blogging also really helps to stay on track with reading πŸ™‚ Although right now I’m not completely on track with my reading because I have to focus on completing uni assignments, but that’s a different (temporary) story.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I know the feeling – as I said my tbr has literally exploded! Before starting this blog and my bookstagram account I was on a bit of a ban when it comes to adding books to my tbr, so the huge number of books on my to-read list on goodreads would finally decrease for once. It worked okay… but then… this blog & bookstagram. And the ban went out the window. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ha ha, I’m going to start having a play around with bookstagram soon. So you know, just another thing I need to fit in amongst reading, writing, cheffing and mummying, lol. I think I’m going to have to ban myself from adding any more for now, lol

        Like

      • Ha ha, i’m planning on having a play around with Bookstagram myself soon. You know, just one more thing i don’t have time for among reading, writing my novel, blogging, mummying and cheffing, lol. I may have to ban myself from adding any more to my list, lol. But at least Goodreads makes sure i don’t forget whats on the list, πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on the award!

    I usually end up spamming my BF with my book opinions anyway, book blog or not. Thankfully sometimes he reads what I read, so he can relate. Reviews are great though – they’ve certainly helped to write out my thoughts and structure them in a way that (hopefully) makes sense to other people. πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ And same, I’ve been doing this before the blog even more so than now πŸ˜€ What you said about reviews is exactly how I see them as well. They are a fantastic way to make sense of your feelings about a book! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much for nominating me. It means a lot! πŸ™‚ I’ll do my Blogger Recognition Award very soon! x Congrats for your blog, it’s really cool and a pure beauty! Wish you the best for the future !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

